Skip to main content

National Merit Semifinalists Recognized by Board of Trustees

The National Merit Semifinalists with their certificates were recognized at the November 17 Board Meeting.


CONROE, TEXAS (November 28, 2023) – The Conroe ISD Board of Trustees recognized the District’s 38 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists at their meeting earlier this month.

Conroe ISD Semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program are:

Arman Ahmad, Mark Antonov, Kate Ashford, Mila Ashford, Rohan Balla, Landon Batza, Meghan Birney, Aiden Chandler, Landon Coutee, Jacob Daniels, Bethany Elliott, Isabel Eshetu, Rishab Ghosh, Morgan Glennie, Matyas Gomez Sanchez, Krishan Gupta, Dominic Handsborough, Hana Jeong, Claire Jones,  Gidean Karp, Stephanie Ma,  Brooks McCoy,  Rohan Mehta, Roshan Mehta,  Avery Moriyasu, Shivani Mundra,  John Neal, Cindy Shen, Asong Shu, Kathleen Song, Zachary Thibodeaux, Alexa Tran, Nicholas Uthman, Owen Vander Wall, Joseph Vaughn, Nicholas Woravka, Acacia Zhang, and Grace Zhang.

Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of more than 16,000 semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of high school seniors, in the 69th Annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for more than 7,000 scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered in the spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Historically, about 95 percent of the semifinalists attain finalist standing, and approximately half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

Over 1.3 million juniors in 21,000 high schools entered the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.