Skip to main content

Conroe ISD Trustees Recognize TWHS Lacrosse Champions

TWHS Lacrosse players pose for a photo with board member
Members of The Woodlands High School Lacrosse Team pose with their coaches (center) and Trustee Ray Sanders (far right).

CONROE, TEXAS (July 5, 2018) – The Conroe Independent School District Board of Trustees gave special recognition to the boys’ lacrosse team from The Woodlands High School at their regular June meeting.

The Woodlands High School’s Boy’s Lacrosse Team won the 2018 Division I State Championship at the Round Rock High School Dragon Stadium in Round Rock on May 13 with a final score of 10-6 over St. Mark’s.

In introducing the coaches and team, former principal of The Woodlands High School and new Assistant Superintendent of Secondary Education Mr. Gregg Colschen remarked, “Twenty-one years ago, the lacrosse program started at The Woodlands High School and it has been an outstanding program for the last 21 years. They have climbed the mountain many times and never quite got to the top. This year, we were able to reach the top. We have a lot of outstanding young men here with us tonight and their coaches.”

Members of the team are Jacob Moore, Ramsey McCreary, Diego Zimmerman, Dylan Binney, Jack Barron, Jackson Shearer, Matt Nunes, Brendan McCanna, Seth Demerson, Carson Daspit, Nathan Drickamer, Quinn Binney, James McDowell, Evan Demerson, Ryan Farquhar, Ryan Haenelt, Kevin Conroy, Hunter Reitze, Ben Langston, James Pendley, Sam Sullivan, Tommy Long, Christian Starcke, Grant Morris, Gabe Coates and Mitch Williams. The team is led by Head Coach Keith Tintle and Defensive Coordinator Al Christopher.

Coach Tintle addressed the Board and stated, “We’re real thrilled to be here. Thank you a lot.”